It’s Back to School – Only 9 Weeks Left!!

Hi Everyone!

Hope your Spring Break was terrific!  Mine was great!  My husband and I hiked Superstition Mountain in Arizona!  For three days, we hiked in the area known as the Superstition Wilderness and had a great time!  I climbed to the top of this mountain!

So as our next science unit begins on Landforms, I will have plenty to share about that!!  I sure hope that everyone had a restful break and is now ready to come back to school and wrap up the year!  I can hardly believe that we have so little time left.  And we have a lot we have to do yet!

Parents, we will be taking a field trip on Thursday, May 9, from 9 – 11:00 am approximately.  We are going to DeGraaf Nature Center for their wildflower class!  I will be picking a few parent chaperones to ride the bus, however, I am sure that if you want to drive yourself, that will not be a problem!  I will ask you to leave other siblings at home so that this will be a special time for you and your child.  A form will be coming home in a week or so to ask if you would like to chaperone!

Our math unit will continue to get more challenging for students as we get into triple digit addition and subtraction.  Most students now understand the re-grouping and un-grouping concepts and can hopefully see that they just keep on going across the problem to add or subtract.  Any extra help at home is so appreciated, as well as, checking over the homework packets to see if your child has done it correctly.  That will give you instant feedback as to where their misunderstandings are.

Reading Counts will wrap up in mid-May and so will Chapter Book Club.  We will no longer have any more Book It calendars (ends at the end of March).  Please, please keep reading with your children!  This is so important, especially over the summer.  Also, now is the time to arrange for a tutor if you haven’t already done so (if you feel your child may need the extra help).  In a previous post, I listed the teachers available for tutoring.  If you can’t find it, shoot me an email.

It’s wonderful to hear the birds singing to us on our way into school now!  I am really looking forward to spring and the warmer weather!  The kids and I will make the most of it!

Happy Spring!   Love, Mrs. Q

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *