2 G Summary! 9/26/11

Hey Everyone!  Happy Sunday/Monday!  This is the 2 G Summary!  My nick name for the second grade update!  I will try to keep you updated each week with what is going on in our classroom!  We have lots to say – so here goes!

First, a big thank you for all of the supplies you have contributed to our classroom!  We could not make it without all of the wonderful donations from our families.  We will put it all to good use for sure!

Next, our Walk-a-Thon was a success on Thursday!  The rain held off and we were able to walk for 45 minutes to an hour!  Most students made their goals they had set for themselves!  Thank you again everyone for your contributions!  These days we are doing more with less and we are very thankful as a staff for your help!  Parents if your student is still collecting money for their packet, they can send it in this week.  (More pictures at the end of the post!)

Third, our field trip news!  I apologize everyone that I have not yet been able to notify those moms/dads that have been chosen as chaperones, due to waiting on background checks to be completed.  I was notified on Friday at the end of the day that those are now complete!  So I will be sending home notices to those parents who are chosen.  The kids and I will pull names from a hat.  Just a note, moms and dads, if you really want to come and you are not chosen, just plan to drive yourself or carpool with a few other moms and meet us there!  You may not be able to ride the hay wagon with us, due to room, however, Klackle’s has a great gift shop and lots of baked goods!  I’m SURE you will find some way to entertain yourselves while you wait for us!  🙂  The field trip is October 4th at Klackle’s Orchard in Greenville.

Now for our subjects we are learning in school!  Thank you for getting those homework packets in on Mondays or sooner!  Reading Counts is off to a good start!  Some answers to questions my wonderful students have asked are as follows:  Yes, books should be sent to school EVERY day.  That way your child can read them during Daily 5.  Yes, every student should be trying to read every night for at least 15 minutes!  The calendars can be sent in on Monday, Oct. 3rd.  And moms and dads, I am reminding your students daily that it is THEIR RESPONSIBILITY to get their things into their backpacks for school.  🙂  So often I hear, “my mom forgot to put it in.” 🙂

I will be contacting some parents to help on a weekly basis with Reading Counts tests.  I would need these parents to come in on Mondays or Thursdays at 3:00.  Please shoot me an email (lquigley@hpseagles.net) and let me know if this would be something you would like to do! Overall, all subjects are going well.  In math, practicing addition and subtraction facts would be EXTREMELY  helpful.  See the site I have listed under my blogroll for a good site to make your own flash cards.

Ok!  I think I have been very long-winded!!  Sorry about that!  I’ll try to be briefer in the days to come!  Have a great last week of September!        – Mrs. Q

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *